Recent Match Report – India vs Australia 2nd ODI 2022/23

Toss Australia opt to bowl v India

Despite consistent drizzle for the past few days, the rain in Visakhapatnam ceased on Sunday morning to provide an on-time start to the second ODI between India and Australia. Once the coin went up, it was Australia captain Steven Smith who won the toss and chose to chase.

Both sides made two changes apiece, with Alex Carey returning as Australia wicketkeeper in place of Josh Inglis. Carey was ill before the first ODI. Australia also brought in the extra quick bowler Nathan Ellis in place of Glenn Maxwell, who has “pulled up a little bit sore” according to Smith. Adam Zampa is the lone frontline spinner.
India left out Ishan Kishan to make place for the returning Rohit Sharma, who missed the first ODI due to personal commitments, while they chose an extra spin-bowling option for the second ODI, swapping Shardul Thakur for Axar Patel in the lower middle order. The last time India had three left-arm spinners in their XI was in an ODI against Sri Lanka in 2010.

Both captains acknowledged that the pitch – covered for the last few days – was an unknown quantity in the contest, thus making chasing the smart choice at the toss.

“The three spinners is something we might do in the World Cup, so trying it out,” Rohit said at the toss. Smith said that the pitch “might do a bit” early on and wanted his side to rectify their mistakes from the first ODI where they lost wickets in clumps.

Australia XI: 1 Travis Head, 2 Mitchell Marsh, 3 Steven Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Marcus Stoinis, 8 Sean Abbott, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Ellis, 11 Adam Zampa

India XI: 1 Rohit Sharma, 2 Shubman Gill, 3 Virat Kohli, 4 Suryakumar Yadav, 5 KL Rahul, 6 Hardik Pandya, 7 Ravindra Jadeja, 8 Axar Patel, 9 Kuldeep Yadav, 10 Mohammad Shami, 11 Mohammed Siraj

#Match #Report #India #Australia #2nd #ODI

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: